Book Review: Archer’s Voice By Mia Sheridan

ArchersVoice

Now, I have to confess, I’m relatively ignorant and generally dismissive of horoscopes. So despite the cover telling us that this is a ‘Sign of Love’ novel, and the whole Archer-archer-Sagittarius thing that I was probably meant to get, that element of Archer’s Voice sadly will probably have passed me by. However, there is still much to intrigue about Mia Sheridan’s warm, romantic novel.

In particular, the hero of the piece – Archer Hale is hot. A broody-yet-sexy recluse with a tragic past? How can you go wrong? Most interestingly, Archer is mute, a characteristic that I can’t say I’ve come across in a romantic hero thus far, and one that helped to draw me in to his character. I got less of a real sense of our heroine, Bree, but she too has her own sad past, from which she’s run away to move to the idyllic town of Pelion. Sheridan really captures small-town, lakeside feel nicely, and it felt like one step away from a Nicholas Sparks-based movie at times – which for me is no bad thing. Who doesn’t like scenes bathed in warm light while pretty people emote? Who!?

The occasionally alternating character point-of view was utilised fairly well, and I especially liked how the author handled Bree and Archer signing with one another – again it added an original slant to some well-worn ideas. Their romance develops well in the story, tentatively and with good tension, though I felt like perhaps the intensity of it unfolding could have been ratcheted up just a little more. Who doesn’t like intensity? Who!?

I also really appreciated that Sheridan took the time to investigate how getting into an intense relationship might affect Bree and Archer, especially as someone who’s been a recluse. His feelings of insecurity and worries for future were all believable and pretty well handled.

However… Sigh. The subtleties and nuances for me were all rather undone in the final portion of the story, which kind of descended into rushed convenience and 1-D baddies. And I’m not talking Harry and Zayn wearing Scream masks, though I’m sure that fan-fic exists. Sadly, for me, the shenanigans at the end of the story stretched credulity, and tied everything into a rather lame bow. A shame, as there is a lot to enjoy in Archer’s Voice. Give it a shot and see for yourself, p’raps!

Amazon Link: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Archers-Voice-Mia-Sheridan-ebook/dp/B00I29VGMC/ref=tmm_kin_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&sr=1-1&qid=1423084241

Cringe Factor                                   2/5

Is it Hot in Here?                             3/5

For the Love of Feminism!           2.5/5

Overall Tasty Goodness                2.5/5

Leave a Reply

